• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

How to re-wire to get altenator charging.

2drxploder

Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ranger
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Drop
lower
Tire Size
235 on 15s
I have a 98 expo 5.0 with all accessories, swapped into my ranger. I am currently swapping to sniper efi. I removed the whole body to engine harness. I need to figure how to wire altentor to get it charging again. The only wire I have left connected to altentor is the big gauge wire right now. Thank you in advance. Also in lamens terms please, I am not an electrical engineer

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Alternator has B+ terminal, stud/nut, for the larger wire, it is connected to Battery Positive via a fuse or fusible link

There is often a smaller battery positive cable hooked to a post on inner fender or a MEGA fuse on the outside of engine fuse box
That's where the B+ wire connects, needs to be fused for sure, MEGA fuse 125 or 175amp are easiest to work with but fusible links can be used as well

The 3 wire connector has:
Yellow wire that is also fused and has 12volt all the time, this can be connected to B+ via a 15amp inline fuse
Engine fuse box should have ALT SYS fuse, 15amp, that is for the yellow wire

Green wire is the ON/OFF switch for alternator, it comes from the Battery Light in the dash/cluster, only has 12v with key on, or alternator will drain the battery key off

White wire, jumper to single spade terminal on the back of alternator

Last edited:

2drxploder

Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ranger
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Drop
lower
Tire Size
235 on 15s