• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Hello all - having trouble and need help

gwhm417

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Good morning everyone,

I bought a 1994 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab two days ago and it won't start. I have no mechanic experience but a friend of mine looked at the truck before I bought it and said it was a good deal. Engine and tranny seemed sound and it was in very good shape.

HOWEVER, this morning I drove o the store and then back home...everything fine...went to my sister's house...parked in the driveway and when I went to start it...nothing but one click. It has power to the instruments, lights, radio, etc, but it will not turn over whatso ever...just a click when I turn the key.

I do not have a manual yet to trouble shoot, because I bought it two days ago and here I sit frustrated as can be without a clue what to do.

Can anyone help me out here with a diagnosis?

Please,
B:annoyed:

red85

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
306 ci
Transmission
Automatic
CHeck the small lead on top of the starter. They have a nasty habit of corroding and falling off. I soldered mine in place

Hardwareman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Either that or check your battery cables. Mine did that when the battery cables were corroded.

Allen

mudnsnow

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
5.0L EFI
Transmission
Automatic
Just ask a friend to keep the key in start position, and knock with something solid on the starter motor....... if it start this way you will need a new starter.

krugford

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic