• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

fuel rich code and high idle

chief5

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I am a Newbie ! !998 Ranger 3 L, 6 cy. Lost the oil pump followed shortly by the engine(surprise), replaced engine with a 1999, used my former injectors and pressure control, my plehm and air intake, cleaned IAC(was dirty) but fuel pressure is still 53 with fuel rich code and high idle. any suggestions would be ever so appreciated. (Should I shoot the engine ???)
also replaced the oxygen senors

Thanks in advance,

Tony

Last edited:

Original_Ranger84

TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1984, 1999
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.8L, 3.0L
Transmission
Manual
Well you probably lost the oil pump because of the cam sensor going out. Is it possible the 99' engine you put in is a FLex Fuel engine? and then when you swapped on all of your non Flex fuel parts it would screw around with that stuff.

ACtually I am willing to bet thats your problem... you need to swap on the 99 flex fuel parts and get a flex fuel pump because it has a sensor that is supposed to read what type of fuel is running to the engine. and you need the computer for the Flex fuel engine not the non flex fuel engine.

rurouni20xx

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0L V6
Transmission
Automatic