• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Extended Cab Weight and Removal?

locovaca

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I just picked up a used 93 Extended Cab with 128k on it. For living in Iowa its entire life the thing is in relatively immaculate condition. That said, I want it to last for a while, so I want to clean up the frame surface rust and put some rust bullet on it.

I've never done anything like this before; it's all new to me, but I'd like for this truck to last a long time. From what I've read the simplest thing will be to pull the bed and cab so I can blast the frame and then apply the sealer. I pulled the bed fairly easily on my other Ranger, but I'm guessing the cab is a bit more difficult.

Has anyone removed the cab? Or can I get away with not removing it and instead jacking it up 6 inches or so and having it rest on some 4x4s? I also have to change the slave, and with a Y-Pipe to deal with I was kind of hoping to get the cab off to make pulling the tranny a cinch.

I unfortunately do not have any access to a lift, hoist, or anything that would make sense for this, so it would end up being 3 or 4 guys trying to He-man it over the engine and onto some sort of platform. Sound doable?

02RangerXLT

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I would say... that if you can get your hand on some hydraulic (bottle) jacks, and some sturdy blocks to put them on, you could lift the cab up yourself a little bit at a time.

Granted, I have never done this, but, you never know, haha.

JoshT

Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD