• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Emissions Testing

anupaum

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Hello everyone!

I'm NOT happy about having to choose between two forums and would far prefer that people in higher positions work their differences out like men.

Aside from this, my bi-annual emissions test is coming up. I've been running the same plug wires for three or four years now, and with the MESS I'd made of my coil wiring because of the misinformation concerning DIS with Megasquirt, ( :mad: ) I decided to repair the coil wiring, swap plug wires, change the spark plugs and check everything else out.

I've uncovered several issues. The first is that the nebulous intake tube that I've fashioned (which consists of a 90 degree rubber plumbing elbow fitted internally with aluminum tubing cut to keep it structurally sound under vacuum) has failed. One of the aluminum pieces tumbled through the intake tube and actually got jammed into the factory throttle plate actuator shaft. (I've long since removed the throttle plate, but the shaft that's connected to the throttle cable remains in place, and obviously that's a GOOD thing!) Also, the rubber plug I'd inserted into the PCV fitting on the bottom of the non-functioning throttle body has worn out. I had a bit of a vacuum leak there, so THAT had to be replaced.

I took off the upper intake manifold, cleaned out the EGR passage (which wasn't really that dirty) and applied vacuum to its control valve to verify function. I also removed and replaced the spark plugs on the driver's side, where I discovered that the #3 plug had been sitting in a pile of rusty sludge. The plug electrode was white on that side, but looked normal on the other half of the head.

I cleaned all of that out, but it's clear that I'll need to keep an eye on that #3 cylinder . . .