• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Duraspark Conversion

tprice1965

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Bronco II
Transmission
Manual
Hello, I am a newbie to this forum and would greatly appreciate your help.
I would like to do a duraspark conversion on my 84 Bronco II with a 2.8L V6. I followed the following link: https://www.therangerstation.com/tech_library/2_8Duraspark.shtml. I found (2) 30-2691 distributors (see photo), however, neither of them look compatible with any of the other parts that I ordered from the link above.

Attachments

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual
Both those are supposed to be 30-2691? Neither one is correct like you already figured out. The one on the right takes a bolt on TFI module and has no vacuum advance unit. So it's a computer type unit, like the one you want to get rid of. Not sure what the one on the left fits, it doesn't look right either. But you do have the right Cardone part number. You can look them up at Autozone, O'Reillys and any of the others. They have pictures of what it looks like. When I did my conversion, I think I bought mine from O' Reilly's. I believe I picked them because they has the least core charge. Of course doing the conversion, you do not have the proper distributor to turn back in, so you will be hit with the core charge.

tprice1965

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Bronco II
Transmission
Manual
Thank you for the post - these distributors are extremely hard to find - went to Oreillys and have an idea what I need, but it may take me a while to find one. Thanks Again franklin2!

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual