• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Cruise control not working, can’t figure out what is wrong

mdiiorio

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Hello,
Sorry if this is lengthy but I want to share all the events to not waste anyone’s time on responses. I am by no means a mechanic and am actually pretty new to working on cars, so if I say anything seemingly dumb I’m sorry...

I have a 2004 Ranger FX4 manual trans. So my cruise control quit working and I went to have it diagnosed. Mechanic said the module/servo was bad and quoted me 700 bucks, needless to say I passed on it. I then ordered a used servo for 65 on eBay and put it in, still nothing. Fuse looks ok, and I would imagine that was the first thing the mechanic checked when diagnosing. When I did the diagnostic sequence I got 2 flashes. Tried a new brake light switch, still not the problem. Didn’t want to mess around with clutch switch if I’m not sure that’s the problem, and it seems to be working fine. Just to make sure that the servo I ordered worked I met up with my friend who has a 2004 FX4 with cruise control that works and swapped them. His servo did not work in my car and mine worked in his, so the servo I bought is good, there is obviously another problem. Now that I have a good servo in it, what else could be the problem, and could that problem have to do with my first servo going bad?

Last edited:

RobbieD

2.9l Mafia
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Toonces drives a Ranger . . . . just not very well.