• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Cheap and easy mods to increase HP and performance

sauceman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger XLT
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Hi Everyone!
I'm looking for i
deas for some fairly cheap, easy mods for me to do to my 1992 ford ranger XLT. I'm a beginner and I am looking for good starter projects to take on! Any recommendations?

19Walt93

Ford Technician
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Drop
3"
Tire Size
235/55R16
My credo
If you don't have time to do it right will you have time to do it over?
That's a nice clean looking 92. You'll feel a big difference by changing the gear ratio, easiest way is to swap in a used rear end. You likely have 3.45's or 3,73's, moving to a 4.10 rear would make a noticeable difference. There are cat back exhaust systems that will make a little power difference and improve the sound.

gaz

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
87Ranger Endrigo 2.9l, 87BII Endrigo 4.0l
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Ranger 5" (2" suspension), BII 4" suspension
Total Drop
Ranger 5sp, BII A4LD
Tire Size
Ranger 33"/4:10LS, BII 29"/3:73LS
My credo
Deengineer until it is how Blue Oval should have sold it!!
sauceman,

Nice looking truck. Since you said performance, you may need to define "cheap".

How many miles are on the 4.0L? If you have over 150,000 miles a valve job ($150 plus parts) as the guides are probable shot with a bunch of undesired gunk under you valves, followed by new adjustable push rods ($150 from Smith Brothers) and hardened rocker arms ($150 from Dynacam) would be money well spent.

Again, I don't know how far you want to go but a quality set of headers into a 2.5" exhaust should make a difference.