• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

AODE/w issues after 01 swap

oddball101

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys, I haven't ever posted in the urgent section before but now, well it is urgent.. I have been on barrowed time using someone else's car while I did my swap and now the time to give it back has come. Like most of us here, I bust my butt for a living and this truck is my livelihood. So here goes..

2000 5.0 Explorer swapped to 2001 Ranger 3.0 extended cab ranger
I have two sets of issues. One is the vacuum setup is leaking somewhere but that I can hopefully resolve on my own. The second and very real issues is the AODE/w transmission. I drove the donor a couple hours down from NC and had her purring and running even better before I began the swap a couple months after, giving her plenty of test drives in between.

My issue
Upon completion of the swap, she idles really only if the MAF is unplugged and that is for about 15 minutes before she dies. Again, I feel like I can hunt that down, but I am certainly not apposed to insight anyone may have to offer. I went to back out the truck to take her to the exhaust shop, and when I got out in the road, she wouldn't move forward in drive. I cycled through the gears and eventually caught 2nd and managed to coast most of the 1/4 mile to the shop (got lucky there) with someone following me. Same thing on the way back.