• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Anyone have Verizon FIOS?

ryan

Forum Administrator
Administrator
V8 Engine Swap
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
Solid Axle Swap 4x4
Tire Size
If you do, how do you like the speed? Is downtime a problem? What is the installation like? We don't have home phone service currently, and the installation details are confusing.

I have zero experience with a service like it - have only had cable internet for broadband.

We currently have time warner cable/cable internet and they're charging an arm and a leg, and our upload speeds are horrendous. We have the upgraded 15mbs connection, but the upload might as well be dialup

Psychopete

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
If you do, how do you like the speed?
I have the 10/2 package - It is FAST. My last connection was 1.5/786 tho, so 10/2 is a big improvement. I can't vouch for the upload speeds because I don't run a web server or upload much. You running a FTP? I could upload a dummy file to bench mark if you wanted.

Is downtime a problem?
Hardly ever.

What is the installation like?
They installed a box on my basement wall, and ran a cable to the router next to my computer. The router they supplied is wireless and you can configure it as well. The guy who installed it was really out there, did a pretty shitty job of running the cable to my PC, but what else is new.

Pete

ryan

Forum Administrator
Administrator
V8 Engine Swap
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
Solid Axle Swap 4x4
Tire Size
not running FTP, but i'd use the speed for gaming.

i also would want to use my wireless router instead of there's and i'm not sure how that goes over