• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Anybody in Computer Science?

BigClemsonFan

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Just like the topic says, is there anyone on this board that has a degree in Computer Science and works in that field? If so, can you explain what you do, what you like, what you don't like, etc.?

I'm planning on changing careers (again) and pursuing a second bachelor's in computer science. I just want to know if the work is what I think it would be like.

Thanks.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Well, I work in computer science and software engineering, but my degree is in physics. I used to work in a university computer science department (scientific visualization and high-performance numerics).

I have a MAJOR beef in that quite a few modern computer science programs (not all, though) don't teach a couple of very important topics like how to engineer a calculation, how to interpolate, even some basic algorithms and data structures, and in some programs, the boring stuff about how to write specs and test plans (that's half of what you do in the field).

One of the other software engineering folks over here (who works on air traffic management) complained to me once that he couldn't find software engineers that could solve a quadratic equation. I was flabbergasted....

4Banger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic