• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

94 B3000 rough idle

94MazdaB3000

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys, I have a 94 Mazda B3000, lately it has begun to idle extremely rough. It doesn't matter if it's just parked in the driveway or stopped at a red light, the longer it sits, the worse it gets until it is seriously shaking you inside the cab. It doesn't do this once the truck starts moving. I am far from an expert so I don't know where to start. Any thoughts or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
1994 3.0l still used a distributor and TFI ignition system.

When did you do the last tune up?

Distributor cap, rotor and spark plugs, and spark plug wires if funds permit.

These parts wear out and you notice it first at idle.
If you change the spark plugs keep track of where each old one came from, spark plug tip can tell you alot about how the engine has been running.
Very Light brown is good, dark brown or blackish is rich burn, maybe some oil, black is way rich and could be oil.

Also worth while putting a can of Seafoam(or other injector cleaner) into the gas tank once a year.
Dirty tips on the injectors can cause rough idle, because they drip fuel vs spraying it.

O2 sensors are good for 100k miles, after that the engine will tend to run rich(see spark plugs) at that time it is worth while changing the O2 sensors, they will pay for themselves in fuel savings over the next 100k :)

Once engine is warmed up and idling unplug the IAC(idle air control) valve, idle should drop down to 500rpm or engine may even stall, either is good, it means no vacuum leak.
If idle doesn't drop down then you have a vacuum leak that is causing to rough idle.

94MazdaB3000

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda