• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

92 Ranger Starter Melt Down

thomasakehoe

Banned
--- Banned ---
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hey everyone newbie here with a problem I just bought a 92 Ranger STX 4x4 with manual trans and 4.0L engine from a friend who basically knows less about these vehicles than i do here's the problem the starter went bad in it a few months ago just seemed like the bendix was bad etc... would fire up sometimes and sometimes just click. Well a week ago he had a buddy of his install a new reman starter and the first time it started fine and then the second time it fired up and wouldn't disengage and by the time they got the battery terminal back off the small red wire on the starter was burned almost all the way off. So I am the proud new owner and I have a basic repair manual. I'm pretty good at wrenching etc... but electrical diagnosis is another story. I can see under the hood that at sometime in the trucks history someone has played Dr. Frankenstein and cut and spliced some wires. Just trying to get an idea as to what the wiring setup for the starter system should be etc.... like power goes from here to here to here and also if there is anything common with these trucks that might cause a starter to not disengage. Thanks for any help.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
BTDT.

This is a CLASSIC stuck relay. You almost certainly need another starter as well due to the burnout. But you have nothing to lose by trying to repair that wire, so you might as well try it.

The relay is on the passenger fender near the battery. It's not very expensive (probably around $20).

It's not a short or you would have some nice weld marks on your body.

thomasakehoe

Banned
--- Banned ---
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual