• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

87 Ranger TK5 trans parts nightmares!!!

LD57

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Cut and paste from a different thread, suggested I start a fresh one.
This:

Hey, newbie here, original owner of an '87 Ranger, 2.9 TK-5 trans, mfd. March '87.
The hydraulic throwout went, and working on that, but with the tranny on a stand in the garage, I put the shifter back in after fixing up that bushing with some 2 part epoxy, but it only seems to want to shift into 2 gears, I can't move the shifter to get it to select other gears. Did I screw up somehow and how do I fix that? Thanks!!

The other problem is NO ONE seems to be able to get me the right output seal!! The last one that looked promising was an SKF P501-17-335B but it's too big like the National I was sold. Original is 2.251-ish OD and the SKF is 2.374 OD.

Part two of the posting:

I seem to be able to move it into the gears by hand, and if I put it in 1st then put the shifter on, it acts like all is well but then won't go back over to the 1st and 2nd gate. ???? Did I put the bushing too low on the shaft, would that make any difference? I got the Dorman part someone recommended.

The shifter came out of the floor in my hand when it was about 3k miles out of warranty, but Ford replaced it as a recall. Not a problem since, clutch and stuff replaced once before, and it would be fine if it wasn't for that idiotic internal slave thing. :pissedoff:

And pics:

101_0169.JPG
101_0170.JPG

LD57

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Hey, moving the bushing up the shaft a bit seems to have resolved the shifting issue with the tranny sitting on a stand. Off to a different store soon to find a dang SEAL!!

And if the other store gets me another wrong hydraulic slave, well..... :pissedoff:

Shran

Junk Collector