• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

3.0 misfire cylinder 1 at idle when warmed up

Lovemy98ranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1998 and 2002
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Newbie here. I have. 98 ranger 3.0, now has 46k miles. Purchased last year with 11 k original from a mailman that drove it 2 miles a day to work and back, never left his town. At around 38k, I started noticing a skip here and there. Just got worse as time passed. Now it'll skip when idling after and only once its warmed up. Only code I pull is the cylinder 1 misfire. I've changed the wires, plugs, coil, iac, cps, cleaned throttle body, maf, changed fuel filter, pcv valve, egr valve, and injector #1. And a bunch of vacuum lines like the 4x4 to the hubs, the brake booster line with elbow and grommet, both intake lines ect. I also did a compression test, first time I think it wasn't tight enough and I got 90 psi on cranking cyl 1, then noticed it was loose, tightened then got 120-125 psi, and did this a half a dozen times, each at the same 120 reading. I noticed some of the other cylinders were at 150 psi. I'm stumped, this is my work truck, can't live without the 4x4,ive never pulled or loaded anything over 700-800lbs in it. Any help would be much appreciated. I'd hate to sell it, cause I love it. And just installed a fisher homesteader a couple
Thousand miles before it started the misfire.

Last edited:

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

That 2mi to work and back is not a good thing, just FYI
Means the engine never fully warmed up which causes it to get gummy build up inside, but thats not your problem

Yes the compression is the issue
Static compression, cranking engine not running, is much higher than in a running engine