• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2004 v6 4.0 Transmisson cooler line leak

deucetracey

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I am new to this thread and owning a Ford ranger as well.
Not very mechanically-minded either but i'm learning.
My transmission cooler line towards the front of my truck is leaking through due to rust. I will have to get new lines and replace them
Any tips and/or sites that will help me find appropriate lines?
Any help is appreciated. Thanks

captainhero

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Bumping this thread. Having similar issue I think and can't find much content / threads online.
How hard is it to change the trans cooler lines? Can they be "fished" through the engine and chassis or does it need major part removal? Didn't find any info in my Chilton book either.

2007 ranger xlt 4.0 SOHC 4WD

sgtsandman

Aircraft Fuel Tank Diver
TRS Forum Moderator
U.S. Military - Active
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Ham Radio Operator
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2011/2019
Make / Model
Ranger XLT/FX4
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC/2.3 Ecoboost
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Pre-2008 lift/Stock
Tire Size
31X10.5R15/265/65R17
See how the existing lines are run and what kind of condition they are in. If the leak is in a spot you can cut and slide a hose with some clamps on, you could do that. This is assuming the rest of the line is in decent shape. Me with my OCD, I would look at replacing the line(s). Ford might still have them available to order. If it's leaking at the radiator, then you are looking at replacing the radiator. In any case, the line(s) need to be repaired or replaced since the transmission needs those lines to keep the transmission from over heating.

captainhero

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic