• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1991 ranger/mercedes diesel beef up

1991fordranger1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
3.0 Mercedes diesel
Transmission
Manual
Hello,

Last fall I took on the challenge of mating a mercedes om617 diesel to a fm145 five speed 4x4. Now after close on 20,000kms (yes canadian) I have decided I wanna beef up the suspension for the weight of the engine and for driving it as a dd but want something tht I won't be afraid of takin off road.

So please wise experienced 4x4 mess arounders tell me if I'm on the right track. ( I am a ticketed machinist and apprentice welder so if you have ideas nothing is impossible) I want to put coils from a f150 up front which if I under stand right will equal out to 3.25 " of lift I'm assuming my five cylinder weights more then any ranger engine so I'm expecting it to slump down a bit from weight. I'm gonna modify the drop brackets down two inches to avoid too much angle on the ttb and want to build some stretched radius arms that with my rear tranny mount I have built will bring I back 17.5 ". On the rear I want to do the chevy leaf swap ( explorer 8.8 going in with them) which I under stand with the factory block removed and a 7" shackle should get me three over in the back.

Do my numbers sound about right does it seem like the right way to go please I'll take critisim if it means making super truck ride like a dream let me know

Thanks
Brendan

martin

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Manual
Sounds about right to me.

1991fordranger1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
3.0 Mercedes diesel
Transmission
Manual
Ok I'll try to take pictures of brackets while being made to see if you think It should work

Str8sixfan

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Automatic