• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1988 ranger. Compression confusing and other issues

NateWollzie

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger 2.9
Transmission
Manual
Hello all! New to Ranger nation.. but I have a 1988 Ranger.. 2.9L.. was told 160k but I know it's probably 260k on the milage lol.. anyway, I had a crank no start issue recently and traced it back to a severed electrical ground in the fuel system circuit.. now that I got her running... More problems.. fuel pressure was decent both times I last checked.. the oil pressure climbs when you first start it.. levels out when warm.. but spudders and/stalls occasionally.. also noticed smoke coming from from exhaust manifold/valve cover or engine idk lol I'm not a mechanic.. spark plugs extremely gunked up and oily.. and my compression is low on all cylinders unless I crank the engine for about 8 seconds I can get normal compression. I'm at around 90psi on all cylinders cracking for 5 seconds. glove test on the radiator and nothing.. temperature gauge fluctuates.. spark plugs get extremely hot but no overheating.. doesn't seem like I'm losing coolant but definitely losing oil... not sure if that's normal. I feel like my head gasket may be blown. Any thoughts would be appreciated!! Thanks in advance

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

When you do a compression test all spark plugs must be removed so you get good cranking speed
Battery voltage should be 12.4v to 12.8volts, for the same reason
Press gas pedal to the floor and hold it down when cranking, this is to get good air flow into the engine
And yes, longer crank time, 10 to 12 seconds, you need to "hear" 5 to 7 "hits" of the compression stroke from the cylinder being tested, you will hear it