• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1988 Ranger Bleeding the hydraulic clutch

papperbob1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
3 inch
Tire Size
33x10.50x15
Hi,
I have been a member for several years and have used different post for information. They have been very helpful. This is my first time posting a problem I am having with my 1988 Ford Ranger 4x4. My Ranger has a 2.9L engine, 5 speed standard transmission, 3 inch lift, 33x10.50x15 tires with 1" spacers. I am a 75 years old retired person and drive this truck very little, probably around 1000 miles a year. I have owned the truck for 13 years. I jokingly have said that this was my retirement project. Which it has been. I have repaired or replaced about everything in that time frame. Looks really nice from a distance, but I am still having problems. Recently my clutch pedal started loosing up and down travel and would rake gears going into 1st and reverse, so I started researching how to bleed the clutch system. Which got me into more then I bargained for. I had the whole clutch system replaced when I had the motor changed out right after I got the truck 13 years ago. I haven't driven the truck more then 12,000 miles since the clutch was replaced. The clutch has always worked fine up until now. I have read where these years of Rangers are some of the worst, hardest clutches to bleed. First off I found out that the clutch master cylinder fluid was low. Being low probably let air into the line at the master cylinder fill cup.? My wife helped me by pumping the clutch pedal while I would release and tighten the bleed screw on the slave cylinder. I didn't get much fluid to come out of the slave bleed screw. I probably just got more air in the system. After researching what could be the problem, I removed the master cylinder and l