• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

10” backing plate 2002 ford ranger help!

MelissaH

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Hi! I have a 2002 Ford Ranger and the 10” rear backing plate on the left side was completely warped. I have been having the worst time trying to find a replacement 10” backing plate when I ordered from oriellys I got in some 9” backing plates. What would it take to convert from 10” backing plates to 9” backing plates. I already ordered the 9” drums and backingplate before I realized I had a 10”.

Attachments

RegularGuy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
I've never needed to do the conversion from 9 to 10 but it should just be doing THIS in reverse. That being said, for the cost and headache (I'm no expert but I'd guess it might actually cost more to do the conversion) you're probably better off purchasing the correct parts and attempting to either return or sell the 9" ones. 10" drums can be acquired on rock auto for about half the price as O'Reilly's, although you'd be stuck with the shipping cost, otherwise if you're needing something even cheaper (or sooner) I've always been able to find drum brakes and backing plates at my local wrecking yard. The one near me sells them for $2 and $5 respectively

Bgunner

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford/Ranger XLT
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Tire Size
225/70/R15
My credo
If it's not broken Don't Fix It!
To convert you will need to replace the brake shoes, hardware, parking brake activating bars, backing plates, drums and possible even the adjuster.

Not worth the hastle and loss of stopping power to convert to smaller drum brakes. Just return the parts you got and order the correct ones. This is the best and cheapest option in your situation.