• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1. Starting Issues 2.9l 4x4 1986 Ranger (auto)

Hi everyone, i'm from germany and in january i bought a 1986 ranger (which is an import car), unfortunately it broke down couple weeks after i bought it, the reason was a broken crankshaft. So i took it to a U.S Car workshop in germany (which are btw extremly rare) and the guy told me he will...
  2. Ford Ranger '86 2.9L Knock Sensor replacement questions

Hi, I'm pretty new to fixing vehicles but am learning fast. I've had this 86 ranger XLT 2WD for a little under a year and been fixing small things here and there. I noticed recently that my knock sensor had been unplugged. Truck has been running well but I have no comparison. I plugged it back...
  3. Injectors not seated?

Hi guys, new heads on a 1986 2.9L Bronco 2. The new injectors on the passenger side don't seem to sit as far down as the drivers side. We unbolted and rebolted the fuel rail a few times and we can't seem to get the passenger side injectors to go down any lower with or without the fuel rail being...
  4. Ranger86er

New to the station

How we doin’? I live in the great state of Maine and although this state is magical in a ton of ways; it still eats vehicles. The DOT drops enough salt to rust out the best of them. Luckily my ‘86 Ranger 2.9L manual transmission came from Arizona, where apparently vehicles live forever, and has...
  5. Boingo

Bad Cam and/or lifters ?

SO, I'll give all the details. You decide what is relevant. My guess is a bad cam lobes and/or lifters. 1986 Ford Ranger 2.9 xlt auto 2wd. The motor was rebuilt by a very reliable guy we know. It was a family member's truck, then i got it years later. It sat in this truck for 5 years without...
  6. DankTank

'86 Ranger, The "Dank Tank" or "A Craigslist Failure Story"