• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Search results

1. RangerGoolz

4.0 or 5.0 swap?

I have a 1986 ranger with 2.9 and 5-speed manual trans. I am curious about swapping in a new more powerful engine. Will a 4.0 be the easiest swap and if so what year 4.0 should I be looking for? If its not that much harder to go 5.0 v8 then I may do that but I am not experienced here and will...
  2. RangerGoolz

1986 2.9 flat tappet?

I have looked online and found conflicting info but am I correct that my 1986 2.9 has a flat tappet cam and hydraulic lifters? I had been using mobile 1 10w40 and recently changed to Brad Penn simi-synthetic 10w40. I did this for the extra zinc in the Brad Penn. Any thoughts on this oil? Engine...
  3. RangerGoolz

Redline SI-1

My 86 was doing that when I got it a few months ago. I changed the fuel regulator and pump and it was night and day difference. Barely bump key and it turns over now.
  4. RangerGoolz

Oil pressure sensor

I bought a new oil pressure sensor. This one that sits on the block beneath my power steering pump. My question is how much oil will pour out when changing; if any? I read somewhere that guys do this during oil changes and took that to mean so as not to make a massive mess. Hoping its easy with...
  5. RangerGoolz

Replacing injectors

I wanted to say thank you to you guys for the guidance. New injectors went in today. My truck idles buttery smooth now, no shutters like previously. Seems to have more power and no longer the slight miss that I was getting in the higher rpm range. The original injectors were very dirty. My 86...
  6. RangerGoolz

Replacing injectors

I bought the injectors from ebay after someone on this forum posted about being very happy with their injectors from this seller: https://www.ebay.com/itm/201342723624
  7. RangerGoolz

Replacing injectors