• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

What did you do to your Ranger today? (Part Deux!)

LearningStick

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
I had a look underneath and noticed some new stuff. A spring leaf broke. There's a foot long rust hole in a frame rail. I studied welding almost twenty years ago, but I never ran a bead overhead while lying on the ground. My memory of what I studied is sketchy. A strong weld probably requires a 220V heavy duty welder to get penetration in the steel. I would need the washing machine's outlet, or a gas powered welder. Maybe I can rent one. Buying one may still be cheaper than having the work done professionally. But I may need pro work to prevent warping of the rail or damage to other parts, or I need equipment I can't set up at home. Repairs may cost more than the truck is worth.

superj

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ranger edge
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
3 liters of tire smoking power
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
none
Total Drop
none
Tire Size
235s
My credo
Grew up in the 70s, 80s, and 90s
Everything costs more than trucks are worth. I say fix her up

scotts90ranger

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
35"
The frame is less than 1/8" thick, you don't need anything too fancy for that...

scotts90ranger

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
35"