• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Should I keep my ranger "original"

Eddo Rogue

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger 4x4
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
OHV
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
skyjacker front leveling kit
Tire Size
31-10.50R15
My credo
Crossed threads are tight threads.
My beloved Ranger still has oem everything down to the bumpers. Aside from lil tweaks and fixes, I have done nothing that cannot be reversed.

I kinda wanna do stuff like steering/suspension mods, Bracketry for lighting, winches etc...maybe even custom bumpers ( I do work with metal by trade), but not invasively. Maybe just to the point of finishing where the ford engineers left off with the TTB.

Also at the same time I kinda dig the OG look. Even the "patina" paintjob I am attached to. I don't wheel crazy either, gnarly terrain I switch to 2 wheeled machine.

She was once admired by hollywood producers and art directors, although it was because the main character drove a crappy truck and they needed to "age" it, my ranger was a reference lol

That made me realize You can toss money and get shiny paint, but only the ravages of time can give my finish lol.

I baby my Ranger, as if its my exotic weekend vehicle. occasional pleasure drives or commutes. routinely implement 4hi and 4lo on my property to keep all that working smoothly. She is a princess.

Anyways what's your guys take on all this? perhaps I should just buy another ranger for hack mod build fabbing lol

Mine is a gem, original miles still under 100k (its a '93)

is there a phobia word for fear of hacking away for modifications?

rusty ol ranger

Im a Jeep guy now.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
177 CID
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
A legend to the old man, a hero to the child...