• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

To rebuild or not to rebuild

Mrich1510

U.S. Military - Active
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
2.8 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Okay so I’ve run into an issue. A week ago I purchased a 1984 Ranger with the 2.8 in it. It doesn’t run but it turns over. I pulled the spark plugs, one was filthy but the rest looked decent. Every time I pull the dipstick, dirt and sludge are on the end of it. Should I attempt to rebuild the motor or just do a swap? This is my first project car/truck and I’m not sure where to begin. Thanks!

RobbieD

2.9l Mafia
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Toonces drives a Ranger . . . . just not very well.
It turns over; that's good.

Drain the oil and look at it real close. Only oil is good, even if it's black. Oil and water will be bad, and metal flakes and/or metal chunks will be very bad.

What's in the cooling system? No coolant is bad. Signs of oil in the coolant would be very bad.

If you've made it this far, now you can put some new (or good) cheap oil back in it and run a compression test. If compression is out of spec, the engine needs a rebuild. If the compression is in spec, the motor should be able to be started, and ran, so it can be evaluated further.

The original engine management on the 2.8 can be problematic, but if the motor ain't broke you should be able to get it to fire and run (even if not great).

Welcome to TRS, and good luck with your Ranger. '84 was a good year. (y)

Mrich1510

U.S. Military - Active
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
2.8 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Thanks Robbie,

So I drained the oil last night and it was pretty with 2 or 3 small (super super fine) metal shavings.