• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

RangerXtraLettuceTomato - Project : Turbo Powa! Ranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Hello everyone,

The project begins! I received a call today from the shipping company to schedule my "new old" engine for delivery tomorrow. So exciting!!! I will be sure to post pictures tomorrow. I also ordered an 8.8 Ford Explorer 3.73 rear axle that is expected to be here Friday. As I've mentioned earlier in my introduction post, I'm totally new to the Ford scene and all things domestic in general. I've only dabbled with JDM vehicles up until now. I purchased a 1997 Ford Ranger XLT back in September as a work horse primarily. However, I became curious of the potential of this rear wheel drive truck and started doing some reading......Let's just say I was itching to boost this truck before I even test drove it. However, after driving it....I knew a turbocharger was an absolute necessity! I came across a pretty good deal for 87-88 Thunderbird 2.3L Turbo coupe engine last week and decided to purchase it. After doing some more reading, I also decided an 8.8 Ford rear end wouldn't be a bad thing to have either. So there you have it. I'm certainly open to any advice this community has to offer. Every bit of help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

scotts90ranger

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
35"
Not a whole lot of action in the ol forced induction section anymore, and not many perusing turbo 2.3L's anymore, welcome!