• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

12V coolers?

lvwill

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Type
2.3 EcoBoost
Engine Size
2.3 Ecoboost
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Tire Size
265/65/17
I haul building materials locally in Vegas. Home Depot and Lowe's Monday and Tuesday lumber yards rest of the week.

I've been using a coolatron cooler for about 3 years now and it's been pretty good.

4x4junkie

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
35x12.50R15
If current drain is a concern, then be sure to get one that has a real refrigeration circuit, rather than a thermoelectric (Peltier) type cooler.

The difference in current draw literally is 4-fold (1.75A vs 6-7A), and a real fridge unit can also be used as a freezer if needed (and works very well as such too). Thermo coolers rarely reach any more than about 40°F or so below whatever the ambient temperature is (so if the sun has heated the inside of your vehicle even to just 100°, that sandwich meat or milk or whatever will likely be gone in short order).

I have an Edgestar 43 qt unit that sits in the back of my BII when I go on trips (have had it since 2010). It's been a great unit.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Not that it matters but when I was in Australia coolers are called Esky's
Was in a "down under" friend's garage and he said "grab that esky"...................??
"What the heck is an esky??"
"A cooler mate"

A company called Malley's sold a cooler model called Esky, short for Eskimo , it just stuck, like Kleenex for a tissue
Coleman now owns and still makes that model line