• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1988: Swap 2.9L for 1990 4.0L

WhiteBread16

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
Hello,

Well I'm new to the Ranger Station and all and I'm pretty sure I made it to the right place about an engine swap. Anyway to the specifics, I'm thinking about swapping in a 4.0L V6 from an Automatic 1990 Ford Ranger. My current vehicle is a 1988 Ford Ranger, Manual, 2WD, 2.9L V6. I have done some investigating and information collecting enough to know that you want to swap from a Ranger earlier than '94. So far from what I have read, these are the following things I'll need to preform that swap;

4.0L V6 Engine (1990 Donor Ranger)
All Wiring Harnesses (100%, no cuts or splicing)
Dash/Instrument Cluster from donor vehicle (1990 Ford Ranger)
Computer from Manual 4.0L V6 (1990)
*Possibly a new front axle (D35) to replace the D28*

If there is anything that I might be missing, just let me know and if you have done this or any type of engine swap, I would greatly appreciate any advice. :)

Also I know that they do recommend swapping out the manual transmission because the 2.9L trans won't hold up to the power of the 4.0L, and I have seen that you want to get a M5OD trans. Well since the donor is an Auto, I don't really have much choice. BUT it turns out my '88 Ranger has the Mazda M5OD-R1 trans in it, and I was just wondering if anyone would know if that means that I can keep my current transmission and just swap in the engine???:huh:

I did see that the 4.0L version of that trans has different gear ratios, and i'm also wondering if the input shaft would only reach the flywheel in my Ranger, or if it will go into the crankshaft? If anyone can offer any insight on this, please let me know ASAP :) Thanks​

voodoochylde

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9l