• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Speedometer Correction?

Wes

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
I've put some 33's on my truck the other day and would like to correct my speedometer. In the tech pages I found the article about replaing the speedometer cable gear at the transmission. Problem is, my transmission dosn't seem to have one.

Is this correct for my year/drivetrain?

If so, how do I correct the speedometer for my truck?

kunar

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
5.8l
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
i *think* your truck has a vss, so you will need to reprogram the computer.

Wes

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
How can I, or where can I have my computer reprogramed? Keep in mind I have a degree in math and comp. sci., so if it's something I can do without any expensive equipment I'm all for it.

Wes

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Here are the options I've found:

1. Local Ford dealer $50-60 (one time change)
2. Buy an NGS tool $2500 (unlimited comp. changes)
3. Find a bootleg copy of Hickok's PC based NGS and schematics on making a USB to Vehicle connector esitimated at $20-30 (unlimited comp. changes)

The later of course is illegal and finding someone with even a ligitimate copy seems like it would be a chore in itself. So it looks like my local Ford dealer is going to make some money off of me. I guess there's a first time for everything!

Yellowsplash

U.S. Military - Active
U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 V6
Transmission
Manual