• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Can someone explain this to me....

Jspafford

Logan Andrew Feb 17, 2012
V8 Engine Swap
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Chevy 3500HD
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
6.6L
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
5"
Tire Size
35"
Towing with my F-250. This past week I was using my truck to tow some RV's for my employer. I have been keeping tabs on my gas mileage for the last 9 months. I have a spread sheet with, date, gallons, miles to fillup, price, etc and it tells me my average MPG per tank.

So I towed two trailers. One was a 26' which was about 6,000lbs. It was 33 miles one way, and on the way back I was not towing. It was mainly interstate, but there were some stop and go spots too.

The second trailer was 32' and I would guess about 8-9000lbs. It was the same 33 miles.

Anyway, When I filled up and averaged my mileage I got 13.94 mpg. I normally get between 11.5-13 without towing. I almost got 14mpg with a WHOLE lot more weight. How is that even possible? I was practically flooring it up entrance ramps and only hitting 35 at the tops. All in all the truck was bustin it's ass getting these things moving and it gets better MPG's than when not towing at all.

Im stumped

2002 F-250
5.4L Triton 2V
4R100 Automatic with 3.73 gears.

Could it be that when in OD the motor is lugging and that by keeping it revved like I had to a lot of the time, it was burning cleaner??:icon_confused:

Wicked_Sludge

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3-point-GO
Transmission
Manual