• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Carb leaking gas?

Rammunition360

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
dodge
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
im new to carbs...im 20 and this is my 1st carbed behicle besides chevy TBI which i guess doesnt count...but i am leaking raw fuel from the front of the carburetor and its not coming from the fuel filter...i had one unplugged hose so i ran it to the nearest hose plug and it wasnt even leaking from that...maybe a gasket???

Big Jim M

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Try drying it up real good and then starting it and watching to see where the wet spot starts.. Gently tightning the screws on the gaskets usually stops any leakage from them...BUT there shouldn't be fuel on the gaskets unless the vehicle is on a rough surface and the fuel is sloshing around..
Big JIm

enginepaul

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1995, 2001, 200
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
If not the gasket, it could be the float is set too high or is leaking and allowing too much fuel into the bowl.

Rammunition360

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
dodge
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
do i have to take off the carb to investigate this? because i will need to know the info on that then haha...i dont want to mess up any choke or throttle things

Big Jim M

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Ramm Since you ask such a question... I would advise you to seek professional help.. Or at least a friend that knew something about carbs..
The most that I think YOU should do is to take the air cleaner off and try to gently tighten the screws where the gasket is.. Outside of that you might need a friend that has taken a carb apart before to assist in the endevor..
Big Jim

Capt Jay

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year