• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1998 Ford Ranger 5.0 build. Explorer AWD?

dshwopper

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Hello, my names Dustin. I'm new at this. If anyone has any info to help be awesome! I have a 1997 Ford Explorer 5.0 awd. It has a 4r70w transmission. Now I have a 1998 Ford Ranger 2.5l 2wd 4r44 transmission. Now I want to put this 5.0l in my Ranger and transmission. Now my problem is this. I have an AWD Explorer. Has a AWD output shaft for a transfer case. My question is how much of a pain is it to buy a new output shaft to put it in and put a tail housing on it? I can get both parts for 250 at Ford. Should I buy a new transmission that's already 2wd? But I already know my transmission has all the gears, I want to stick with the same one. And also if I do this, my speed sensor is on the transfer case? If I buy a new tail housing will it have the speed sensor on there? Well a hole for it? And should the output shaft have the gears for the speed sensor? And if anyone has done this build let me know, like to know what kinds of problems I'm about to run into. And what info you used for wiring and anything else. Thank you.

Rose2300

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Toyota
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
to keep awd you would have to swap the whole explorer suspension in your truck. so you have to ask your self if thats cheaper than buying a 2wd trans and worth the hassle.

dshwopper

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
to keep awd you would have to swap the whole explorer suspension in your truck. so you have to ask your self if thats cheaper than buying a 2wd trans and worth the hassle.