Home Discussion Forum Tech Articles Other Articles Featured Rides Readers Rides Classifieds Shirts & Decals Parts Store

Ford Ranger Discussion Forum

Off-Road Truck Of The Month

'boneshaker'
March 2014 OTOTM

Mini Truck Of The Month

'one'
March 2014 MTOTM
 

Go Back   The Ranger Station Forums > Styling & Electrical > Audio & Video

Audio & Video Stereos, video players, game systems and custom speaker/sub enclosures.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2008, 07:52 PM   #1
Skyhiranger
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
Skyhiranger is on a distinguished road
Default Where the hell is my factory amp?

I have tried searching......here, other sites, the internet, my Ranger.....and I can not find the factory amp location. I have heard it may be in the passengers kick panel....but the only "box" in there is a blue one that has something to do with the airbags.
I have a 97 Ranger X-cab with premium sound (am/fm/cass with cd controls on the buttons but no cd changer). I have 2 plugs going into the back of the factory radio....one is flat, skinny and grey with the power, amp turn on, ground etc. wires in it.....the other is square and black with 16 wires in it.
I am trying to locate the factory amp, so I can bypass it, since the radio I am putting in already has an amp built into it.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks.
Skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Notices (Not shown to 'Premium Members')

 Reminder:

 We're looking for participants to help move our banner from Alaska to Florida: Click HERE.

 Click HERE to see the banner map.

 Want to become a Premium Member & show your support? Click HERE.

 Want your truck considered for Truck Of The Month? Share it HERE.

Don't forget to vote!

Old 06-20-2008, 10:07 PM   #2
flyingbrick
Member
 
flyingbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
Posts: 880
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle Make: Ford
Vehicle Model: Ranger XLT
Rep Power: 14
flyingbrick is on a distinguished road
Default

http://www.therangerstation.com/foru...ht=factory+amp
flyingbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:47 PM   #3
Skyhiranger
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
Skyhiranger is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingbrick View Post
Thanks. Already read that thread....looked behind the passenger kick panel...not there....looked in behind both rear jump seats....not there.....and I am pretty sure I have an amp, because the wiring/plugs for the radio is not "standard". I know the wiring is different in the 95-97 rangers as compared to the 94s that are referenced in the thread....so I didn't know if the amp placement would be different as well.
Maybe I have to pull the plastic off of the passengers side of the extended cab to see it.....that is the only place I can think that it may be. If someone knows for sure, let me know.
Thanks.
Skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:31 AM   #4
flyingbrick
Member
 
flyingbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
Posts: 880
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle Make: Ford
Vehicle Model: Ranger XLT
Rep Power: 14
flyingbrick is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyhiranger View Post
Thanks. Already read that thread....looked behind the passenger kick panel...not there....looked in behind both rear jump seats....not there.....and I am pretty sure I have an amp, because the wiring/plugs for the radio is not "standard". I know the wiring is different in the 95-97 rangers as compared to the 94s that are referenced in the thread....so I didn't know if the amp placement would be different as well.
Maybe I have to pull the plastic off of the passengers side of the extended cab to see it.....that is the only place I can think that it may be. If someone knows for sure, let me know.
Thanks.
Anywhere in the truck does it say Premium audio or anything like that?

Check on this site http://www.metraonline.com/products.aspx
you'll have to do a search for your truck (97, Ford, Ranger, exd cab)
But as far as I can tell you have a standard audio setup from your description of the plugs

Last edited by flyingbrick; 06-21-2008 at 12:35 AM.
flyingbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 09:29 AM   #5
Skyhiranger
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
Skyhiranger is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingbrick View Post
Anywhere in the truck does it say Premium audio or anything like that?

Check on this site http://www.metraonline.com/products.aspx
you'll have to do a search for your truck (97, Ford, Ranger, exd cab)
But as far as I can tell you have a standard audio setup from your description of the plugs
The number on my OEM Ranger radio checks to a "premium sound" radio. But I have recently found out that Fords "premium sound" radio isn't the same as an actual premium sound "system". I have looked at the various plugs for the different radios and mine is not the "standard" plugs, from what I can tell. The standard plug for the speakers just have the 8 speaker wires in it......my plug has a lot more than 8 (it is a 16 wire plug, but I can't remember if there are 16 wires....but there are definitely more than the standard 8).
I have just been told that I have to pull the plastic trim off on the passengers side of the extended cab area to see the amp......so I will do that and report back later.
Thanks.
Skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 07:54 PM   #6
Skyhiranger
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
Skyhiranger is on a distinguished road
Default

The Ranger factory amp on a 97 X-cab is located just forward of the passenger side rear speaker.....between the inner body shell and the outer body. The 2 amp plugs can be reached by taking the speaker out, and by reaching up through the jump seat hole.

Ok, I got everything hooked up and working. I ended up using the Metra connector that fit the bigger amp connector, and cut the connector on the other end of that Metra harness off. I ended up modifying the square Metra connector so the square connector from the amp would plug into it, rewired the Metra square connector (since if I spliced same wire color to same wire color it would be wired wrong). Then I spliced the wires from those 2 connectors together to make my amp bypass.
All I have to say, is that Metra gets a "D" for their harness/adapter. Out of the 4 connectors that I ended up using (2 at the radio, 2 at the amp).....the 2 at the radio fit correctly (they were Scosche ones, but I am sure the Metra ones are the same), the 2 at the amp either didn't fit and/or weren't wired correctly. And I don't know that Scosche is any better on the amp bypass harness and connectors, since from what I have seen they use the same types of adapter harnesses and connectors as Metra.
I guess the good thing is....with my plug and harness mods, I didn't have to cut any factory wiring, so I can always go back to the OEM radio and amp if I ever want/need to.
Skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 09:34 PM   #7
mountainkowboy
Junior Member
 
mountainkowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 85
Vehicle Year: 01
Vehicle Make: ford
Vehicle Model: Ranger Edge
Rep Power: 13
mountainkowboy is on a distinguished road
Default

The factory flat speaker plug is in the dash in the radio area, the harness that goes back to the amp is an added loop harness. All Ford products have the base radio plugs in them, the premium sound is an add-on piece. I worked for Ford Q1 audio for awhile.
__________________
01 Ranger S/C Edge
3.0, M5OD, 8.8
31" M/T's on Weld wheels
05 Harley Road King (retro)
mountainkowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 10:23 AM   #8
Skyhiranger
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
Skyhiranger is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainkowboy View Post
The factory flat speaker plug is in the dash in the radio area, the harness that goes back to the amp is an added loop harness. All Ford products have the base radio plugs in them, the premium sound is an add-on piece. I worked for Ford Q1 audio for awhile.
If you are saying that I should have 2 flat plugs in the radio area......I don't. I have the 1 flat plug that the power, ground, illumination and amp turn-on wires are in, then I have another square (like 1" x 3/4") 16 wire plug that all the speaker/amp wires are in. 8 of those wires run to the square 8 wire plug that plugs into the amp (I have no idea where the other wires run or what they do). Then there is a flat plug that plugs into the amp that has the wires in it that run out to the actual speakers.

As I said earlier, from what I have been told there is a difference between a ford "premium" radio (which is evidentely what I have) and the ford "premium" sound system. Maybe you are referring to the premium sound system wiring as being a loop harness, because my radio/audio harness looks like it was made as part of the main harness, not added at a later point, or a seperate harness.
Skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.




1999-2014 / 959 Media LLC / All Rights Reserved