• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Understanding 4WD

Cravey Dockett

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Can I get a read on my understanding of drive systems? It's my observation that the typical open rear 2WD is actually 1WD, because if one rear wheel can spin uncontrollably, it will. Thus:

2WD open = 1WD (if 1 wheel can spin, it will)
4WD open = 2WD (1 driven wheel per axle)
2WD posi = 2WD (each rear wheel gets some portion of the available power)
4WD posi = 3WD (rear wheels each get some power, plus one front wheel)

With 4WD posi, in 4LO, will each wheel be driven without uncontrollable slipping?

Thanks, I'm new to all this!

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15
Well, you are mostly sorta correct. On either diff if one wheel is given a situation where is has little or no friction between the ground and the tire, while the other has a lot, you will get one wheel spinning and one sitting still. I do still take issue with your math. The reason being is that with an open diff if one wheel has enough traction to grab, and you are moving, then both do, so it is 2wd.

The advantage that 4x4 gives you in bad, or off road, conditions, is that the rear wheels may be in a position where one or both can't get a grip on the ground, while the front wheels are both perfectly capable of grabbing. 4x4 is now an advantage because you get get power up to those front wheels that have traction, and they can pull you out of your stuckness.

4x4junkie

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual