• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Fuses keep blowing out on amp

getrdone52

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
302 V8
Transmission
Automatic
I have a 500 watt JBL 10'' sub with a Jensen 400 watt max out put amp. I had it hooked up for about 2 days and the fuse on the amp blew out. I was just sitting in the parking lot when it happened and it wasn't loud when it blew. Before I put the back up fuse in I checked all the wiring (me and a friend hooked it up) and everything looked good so as soon as I turned the truck on my the other fuse blew out. So now I'm thinking we bridged it wrong or the ground is bad. Idk I'm not too good with electrical issues so any help would be appreciated!

DJ Skillz

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
What is the impedance of the sub? For example if it's a dual 4-ohm voice coil wired in parallel to 2 ohms, and the amp can only handle down to a 4 ohm load, that could be causing it.

kcm1582

Ford Technician
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Do you have the specific models of amp and sub? May be a ground issue, where did you ground to? On the other side it might be in the wiring for the sub, since you said the amp was bridged I assume it is a 2 channel, is the wiring in the correct terminals and is the sub wired to the right ohm load?

getrdone52

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
302 V8
Transmission
Automatic
What is the impedance of the sub? For example if it's a dual 4-ohm voice coil wired in parallel to 2 ohms, and the amp can only handle down to a 4 ohm load, that could be causing it.
It's 4 ohm.