• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

302 swap hp question

myers94

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Transmission
Manual
Hey guys just so you know I'm pretty new to building engines and I've been doing a lot of research lately on what parts for my 302 build and I guess I don't have a good feel for what parts create the biggest increase in hp from stock, what I am afraid I'm going to do is build an engine that creates to much hp (shooting for 350-400 range) for the block or more relevant the transmition (I plan on getting a M5OD-r2 from a junk yard), then I have spent all this money and I cant even use it. or is it that you really have to try and squeeze that power out of it. Also thinking of running a stroker 3.25 stroke

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Depends on what you are doing.

If you are going to race or offroad (with traction, not mud) you will probably have problems with the M5OD. Guys don't like them in modified fullsizes for durablity with a 302 or 351.

If you are going to keep it under tired for a mobile smoke machine or a cruiser you would probably be fine. Otherwise you might need to shop elsewhere.

RangerFabWorks

The O.G blackwidow67
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Heads make the biggest difference in a sbf. The factory ones just don't flow well. Not very hard to get 400 horse without touching the bottom end.