• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Newb Question?

Reikat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Well hey all... I'm new here and new to 4x4's all together. Owned 4 mustangs before I bought my 1990 BroncoII yesterday... tired of the tickets for now... lol. So I decided a 4x4 could be fun without tickets... So I'm a complete newb...and I'm sure it will show... but I'm willing to learn.

So... I know most of it may come with age, but my BroncoII is kinda floppy feeling. It's kinda hard to explain. Like, the engine is in great shape... just the driveline isn't solid and doesn't feel tight or confident. The clutch also engages really high and the throttle response is horrible... it's almost dissapointing. I know it's no mustang, but I feel like if I get down on it I would throw driveshaft axels and tires... also the truck isn't very road solid it kinda bobs and sways more then normal I think. The steering has a lot of un needed play I think. Any way to tighten it up? So pretty much what I'm asking is what I do to tighten it up over all. Do I need to replace driveline components, suspension, clutch? The whole truck? lol I just want it to feel solid, like I could do a burn out with out it falling apart. Any help will be greatly appriciated...

bcost882

U.S. Military - Active
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2000, 2011
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0L, 1.6L
Transmission
Manual
replace your u-joints if they have alot of play ( get underthere and give em a shake) and your front end and steering could prolly use new ball joints and rod ends. and some new shocks prolly wouldnt hurt

martin

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Manual
It's a truck, not some late model crappy late model crossover thing. It's like trying to compare apples to pizza.

kimcrwbr1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.8l