• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Fire!

jkkj

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
I am new to the ranger station, but not to Fords. I have a 92 mustang GT from back in the day that has ran many years on 14lsb of boost. I have a farm and decided to get a beater for a daily driver and chose a ranger.

I got a 1996 and started working to get rid of the check engine light. I went through all the normal issues. IAP, EVAC not putting suction on the gas tank, and was working throug the EGR system. It had been throwing a lean condition on both banks. So I put new intake gaskets on it and did an injector rebuild while I was there. I was not happy with the injector rebuild kit O rings because they seemed a little big , but worked with them and felt I was good to go. I had an O ring that evedently got pinched on the way back together and blew completely out. With that being said I had a very small fire. I noticed smoke, had an extiguisher handy and put it out probably in less than 30 seconds, but the wiring harness is damaged beyond repair.

I have been unable to source a wiring harness so I bought a doaner truck sight unseen that was suppose to be a 97 but ended up being a 98. I am working through the 98 wiring harness to make it work for my 96. I am working off of a 97 and 00 ecm pinouts that I have found, but if I had 96 and 98 pinout for the 104 ecm connector and the 42 pin connection I would feel much more confident in what I am doing. Can anyone help me find these? I have been searching for better than a week and bought a Haynes manual yesterday that doesn't have jack in it that I need.

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size