• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

5 Speed Manual Transmission trouble

kdowney50

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L SOHC
Transmission
Automatic
I have a 1994 B2300 w/5 Speed manual transmission. Its going south fast. Anyone here ever rebuilt one? I found a kit on line for $275.00. Otherwise a used one is $350.00 and a complete rebuild is $650.00.

I am an industrial mechanic by trade. I have tools and access to a hydraulic press. However, I have never rebuilt a manual transmission. What am I getting myself into?

I don't want to buy a used tranny and pay for some one else's problems. However, having it rebuilt is out of my price range right now. So, unless you guys talk me out of it, I'm going to rebuild it myself!

Let me know what you think.

mp3deviant721

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3l of fury
Transmission
Manual
I haven't rebuilt one myself but, I've heard that you need to take apart the transmission to find out how many teeth you have on the 5th/Reverse slider (I assume what the company meant was synchro sleeve, IDK). And there is a cheaper rebuild kit on ebay. It goes for $179.45.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220574539441&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_1204wt_941

If it were me though, I'd just get a reman unit. It's easier that way. But if you want the challenge, then I say go for it and rebuild your current transmission.

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15