• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Overheated! Engine damage?

srmauer

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
This is my first time posting and I may have a serious problem. I recently bought a 2003 Ranger with the Duratec 2.3 engine. My son has been using it. We have had to add a small amount of coolant/water for the past few months (no leaking but the #3 plug was exceptionally clean-yep) but we were waiting for a more opportune time to dig into repairs. Apparently he allowed the water to get too low and the engine overheated to the point that the computer shut it down-not soon enough, though. There was water in the oil.
Here's my dilemma: I pulled the head and can find no damage. Has anyone gone through this before. I see no cracks but I have not put a straight edge on the head yet. What are your suggestions as to my next step?

Last edited:

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Have the head cleaned, surfaced and pressure tested.
A crack in the head won't send coolant into the oil, a blown head gasket will.

The main heat in an engine is generated in the head(the dome where valves are), when coolant level gets low it makes the head hotter first, gravity being what it is :)
Heat causes metal to expand, so the head metal expands more than "normal", this crushes the metal head gasket ring(s) sealing the cylinders, the 1,000+ psi pressure in a firing cylinder then beaches the crushed ring(s), this pressure first encounters the cooling system passages since they surround each cylinder for cooling, this causes excessive pressure in cooling system and causes rad cap(16psi) to open and more coolant is pushed out into overflow tank, so more overheating.