• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.9 fuel issue?

PowerRanger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I have a 1988 xlt 4x4 ford ranger with the 2.9. This is my first project vehicle so I am not very experienced and just got out of highschool. I was driving home the other night and smelled gas. In a rush to get home I continued driving. The next morning I went out to check on it and found that when I start the truck gas sprayed out of one of my fuel injectors. After staying up all night long I managed to replace all 6 (figured a truck with almoat 200k it wouldn't hurt to replace them all). My truck started right up but now it jerks and bucks back and forth when I drive and tries to die if I don't give it gas constantly. Also when shifting gears it won't go for a couple seconds then it takes off out of nowhere. My like the truck dies but stays running then comes back to life. Checked this morning and it won't start at all. My fuel pump in the rail makes a crazy noise and sounds like something inside it is rattling around and stays on as long as the key is on (it has always done these things though). This truck is my absolute dream truck and I'll do anything to get it running again. This is my DD and ive learned a lot since buying this truck. List of things I've fixed or replaced since I bought it 11 months ago
Ratiator
Both cylinder heads (got home after buying it and found they were cracked, shouldn't seen me trying to figure out if I should sell it or learn how to fix it)
Repaired 6 rust holes in gas tank and cleaned the tank before reinstalling
Alternator
IAC replaced a few days ago
MAP replaced a few days ago
FPS replaced yesterday at the same time as injectors (found a procedure on here to install it correctly)
All fluid resoviors replaced
And many other minor things I'll add if I think of them or they become relevant.