• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

5.0 swap

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3l
Transmission
Manual
Well my last post wasn't ever answered but i got a new idea in mind anyway.. I have a 2002 ranger and want to swap out my 2.3 l 2wd and put a 5.0 4wd in.. Im looking for a cheap way to swap everything and was planning on finding a parts truck at the junk yard or a couple parts trucks that have all the parts neccessary to do the swap.. I'd like to ask what all do i need to change to make sure everything is running and to make the 4wd work? Also what models do i have more of a chance of finding a 4wd manual trans with a 5.0? I have some basic knowledge on things but this is my first motor swap and first change over to 4wd and still have much yet to learn.. Thanks for any replies in advance!

Lil-Pony

TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Take a Guess
Engine Size
2.8 soon to be 4bt
Transmission
Automatic
Manual trans out a 5.0 mustang
And complete donor explorer preferably 98ish to delete pats but any year would work truthfully i believe. Most the answers your searching for are in the tech sec. And by using that virgin search bar.

You will have to have the ecm be reprogramed to not be looking for a trans since all explorers where autos.

Lil-Pony

TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Take a Guess
Engine Size
2.8 soon to be 4bt
Transmission
Automatic
Also the best would be to sas the truck and use a manual t-case

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
If your 2002 2WD is running OK then I would look at finding a 4x4 ranger that isn't, bad motor or transmission.
Sell the 2002 and install V8 and trans in the 4x4, this would probably be least money out of pocket and best end result

Lil-Pony

TRS Banner 2012-2015