• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

sub/speaker questions?

Welder0800

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Hello, i'm very new to the world of car audio and i've been trying to do a bit of reading but still had a few questions.
My questions are:
1: Would boxing a set of 6 1/2's or 6x9's and mounting them on the side of the transmission hump sound okay? I'd like to run a 2 channel amp to each, something like 60-75 RMS each?

2: I would like to add a sub but driving an 89 reg cab limits my options. I'm looking at a 350 RMS 1000 watt max dual 4-ohm 8" to put betwwen the bucket seats. Would a 10" hit any harder if it had the same watts? I already have a 2ohm 500RMS watt rated amp BTW.

Thanks for any help. This stuff is like a foreign language sometimes.

Last edited:

509lifted

Firefighter
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.8l, 4.0 v6
Transmission
Manual
an 8 will hit cleaner but not as deep a 10 is medium a 12 is harder bass and a 15 is more bass than clear music.u can get a shallow mount sub to put in the back and coustom build u a box to spec cause its easier to to buld a box than most ppl think. but with an 8 i will tell u if u set it up right u could easily win competions even tho u dont wanna.

Bennybooster

EMT / Paramedic
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I just put two kicker 6x9's in a custom box and they sound pretty good

hoosier1104

I'm Awesome!
Supporting Member
U.S. Military - Veteran
V8 Engine Swap
MTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
302 based goodness
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
Work hard and play harder

wr250rdr

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual