• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Need help, have ping at hot idle only

94rang

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Hi guys, im new to ranger station. I have a 1994 ranger 3.0L manual 4x4. I currently have a pinging noise at hot idle. I have searched rangerstation and only to find pings happening under heavy load. My ping happens at idle and only at idle. Alittle background info, I bought the ranger with a blown 3.0 (main and rod bearning spun), so i installed a junkyard 3.0 from a Taurus. Yes, I installed ranger headgaskets, and everything from the ranger. I did not install new thermostat, water pump, wires, coil, pick-up on distributor, old fuel filter.I used old but not fouled plugs. Now, I know i need to replace them anyways, but im really tight on money, and the truck doesnt overheat according to the gauge, or missfire. Any ideas where to start cheaply?

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

Try a can of Seafoam in the gas tank, that will clean dirty injector tips.

Guessing from your description that at idle a cylinder, or two, is getting a Lean mix so it is pre-detonating/pinging because of that.

Computer normally runs a Rich mix at idle to prevent this, and at idle computer doesn't use O2 sensor so can't tell if a bank is Lean

Fuel injector tips SPRAY out fuel, but as time goes by they can get a bit dirty, and at idle fuel DRIPS out, lol, so not as good a mix with the air and you get Lean air:fuel mix
At higher RPM air flow is faster and injectors are pumping out more fuel faster so not as noticeable, and of course O2 sensors are being used so computer can increase fuel if Lean burn is seen.