• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

newbie here need some help

94rangerx

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
im in the process of changing the rearend in my ranger, and the axle seal had to be replaced in the one im putting in the truck, and i went to remove the bolt to pull that pin out and it is stripped were i cant use a wrench socket or vise grips on it, is there anyway other way to get the c clip out or anyone know a good way to get that bolt out, i live in a small town and there are no shops around here

jhammel85

Try searching the site. Here's what I found that might be of best use,

http://www.therangerstation.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35795&highlight=axle+seal+bolt

http://www.therangerstation.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58870&highlight=bolt+stripped

Personally, I've never had one of those strip on me and they've all come out pretty easily. Not to say I havent had my time with a stripped bolt or two.

I know you said you aren't around any shops but what about ordering a set of easy outs from a chain like autozone? Amazon.com? Summitracing.com? My set has saved my butt more than once and much better than something awkward like welding a piece of metal to the stripped bolts, Vice grips or whatever else. If I recall correctly, you're working with a 8mm bolt? So you want something a tiny bit smaller that you can really bite into that metal with.

Good luck..And welcome to the forums!

Last edited:

feellnfroggy

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
The easy outs I found only work with striped non stuck threads. There is a set of sockets that 'grab' stripped heads the harder you turn, that hatman was telling me about. Ibelieve they are swirl shaped ridges. prolly your best best.

jhammel85