• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Radio turns off when wipers are on.

clflorida

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
1994 Ranger xlt.

Got a new Soundstream VR-930B 9.3inch touchscreen(yolo) radio. Took out the stock one and used the stock wiring adapters with ones I got from crutchfield. In other words, I didnt mess with the stock wiring.

When I turn on the windshield wipers, the radio shuts off. The old radio had no problems with this. Cause its a big radio, I figured with the headlights, radio, and wipers on the 20 year old truck cant handle the power. Im not good with electrical things.

clflorida

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Ok so when the headlights are off and the wipers are on, the radio still turns off.

drsvox

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
V6 2.8L
Transmission
Automatic
Does the radio come back on when the wipers are switched off?

I really don't think it's a power issue, and I don't think there are any issues with grounding...you're more likely to blow a fuse first. Seems to me something is causing your radio to protect, but I'm sure I could be wrong.

I might begin by checking to make sure the adapter is correct: that the pinouts from the head unit (user manual) match up with your Ranger's wiring. The '94 diagram is available from the tech library.

Also make sure your speakers are rated properly for the unit.

...just a couple thoughts.

clflorida

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
It does turn back on and will stay on until the wipers are activated again.

I did the match up like you said when I first installed. If I remember, the only one on the stock adapter that wasnt used was the illumination because another forum said that was only for the stock radio and it would blow/mess up my new one.

Im not very good with radios/electricity for some reason.