• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

89 B2 Build Thread

Cameron1591

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1986, 1989
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
So I've been scouring craigslist for a few months now to find a cheap candidate to swap the engine from my 86 Ranger into. Long story short the Ranger engine was repaired and running then came into some electrical problems that put it out of commission and it wasn't worth finding the problem.

I finally found an 89 Bronco 2 with blown heads. Only paid $450 for it but it has that much in new parts that were installed in January and it's in way better shape than the Ranger. Surprisingly it started right up and drove onto the trailer before it created a thick white cloud of smoke lol. It needs a lot of body work but I won't complain since it was so cheap and had so many new parts. I attached some pics of it from the PO.

I've started tearing apart the engine bay to pull the motor, trans, and transfer case and I noticed a potential problem that I haven't found a firm solution to through online searches.

I plan to pull the crap electric T-case and use my manual T-case from my Ranger. If it matters, I also want to use the B2's trans since it's an FM146 and the ranger has the FM145. I'm not positive if they both have BW1350's or not. The problem is the electric T-case has a flange style rear output and the manual has what I believe is called a pinion style yoke. I have a new driveshaft that came with the B2 so I wanted to know if I could swap the flange output onto the manual case.

Other than replacing the heads in the Ranger motor I've never done major work on vehicles. Just typical maintenance and repairs so please bare with me.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Attachments

Cameron1591

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1986, 1989
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual