• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Truck bed sits crooked.. HELP!!

bfro88

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I am new to this, so bear with me here. I recently bought a 1996 mazda b3000 as my first car, just to come home and notice the bed is crooked. The left side was about 2 inches lower than the right. I figured it was the leaf springs because the right stack had 4 and the other had 3. Well i went to the junk yard, got some "new" leaf springs, installed them and also did a shackle flip in the process to level it out (painnn in the assss). Anyyyywayyys, it lowered it and it looks a whole lot better. But the problem is, ITS STILL CROOKED!! by two inches.. I am stumped on what to do.. it looks really bad and bothers me every time i see it. Should i flip the left shackle back to how it was to compensate? or is that ghetto af? if it is the bed bushings how do i replace those? can i just slide some washers in there?

Attachments

Will

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Toyota
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
The bed is solidly bolted to the frame. The cab is floating on rubber bushings. The bushing probably need replaced. In other words, the cab is crooked not the bed. Or the frame is twisted.

scotts90ranger

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
35"
if the cab bushings were worn, the window and front of the bed wouldn't be parallel, I'm going with frame tweaked, or more likely if it has two sway bars one of them is bent pretty good...

If the frame is tweaked, get a good amount of sand or something in the passenger side of the bed, and jack the truck up from the rear drivers side frame rail at the bumper mount.

straycat