• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

HID Conversion + questions

ratdude747

Supporting Member
Article Contributor
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Tire Size
215/70R15
Last weekend I scored most of an Optix Bi-Xenon HID Kitat a Goodwill for $25:

It had everything but the relay harness:

The Amazon invoice stated it was originally for a Hummer H2. Luckily, the H2 uses 9007 bulbs like my Ranger, so it will fit. Also, the bulbs are 5000K, which is the light temperature I was thinking of.

Contacting the original seller to obtain a harness went nowhere, but that's OK. I'm an engineer by trade and an electronics hobbiest on the side, so this isn't anything I can't solve with some custom circuitry.

Here's a crappy schematic of what I plan to do: (edit- it sucks and looks bad, kept for historical reasons only)

http://i64.tinypic.com/2a5j7du.jpg

...And a better one made in AutoCAD:

http://www.therangerstation.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=21166&stc=1&d=1473973470

The relay and diodes are to deal with the fact that I need the ballasts on whenever the headlights are on, not just the low-beams. I could have tapped into the red/yellow stripe wire at the headlight switch but I wanted to make this as plug-and-play as possible (not counting initial fabrication), mainly in case I ever go someplace where lighting laws exist and are enforced. The fuse is one of the locations on my secondary fuse block I added awhile back to power some of my other stuff (Camper shell LEDs, CB radio, and formerly a power inverter behind the seat)

First, I bought a relay with a mounting tab and made up the control side wires: