• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Ball joint job - CV nut removal?

OskarBlue

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
I'm fairly new at home automechanics, but I've completed some successful projects. I've searched these forums with lots of questions, and for the first time, I can't find an answer to my problem. So here goes my first post. Hopefully someone out there can help me out!

I'm replacing the lower ball joints on my 99 Ranger. I did this job once before with relative ease on my old 01 Ranger but it was RWD so I had no front differential to deal with.

That's where I'm having the issue. I can't for the life of me figure out how to disconnect the knuckle/hub assembly from the CV axle. I have literally everything else done, but with those parts connected, there's not enough room to slip the spindle down off the ball joint.

Every write up and video I can find talks about removing the CV axle nut. But I can't seem to find it on my truck.

This is what it looks like when I pull off my manual locking hubs

Am I missing something? There doesn't seem to be a nut here, but photos and videos seem to indicate there should be one in the middle.

I'm seriously at a loss here. Can't believe I'm stuck not even being able to access my ball joints. I feel like I'm missing something really obvious, so I'm calling it for the night and gonna sleep on it.

Anyone know what I'm missing here?

1996xlt

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic